Benefit

Convenient and secure authentication; single sign-on to establish the extranet connection; flexible, extendable solution.

Reference Customer

Gerichte des Kanton Zürich

Branch of Industry

Public Administration

Solution Area

Data Center & Infrastructure, Mobility, Security

Contact person

Consulting-Team GNS

+41 52 368 79 79

Save contact

Project environment

Since 2001, the courts of the canton of Zurich have been counting on Axians GNS when it comes to IT security, consulting services and planning, realisation and implementation, as well as maintenance. Axians GNS works in close collaboration with their internal IT team to provide security solutions such as firewalls, e-mail content security and web filtering. This particular project also placed great emphasis on security.

Project requirements & goals

“Our employees grew increasingly eager to work from home at times and be able to reliably access data and information on the move,” explains Christian Pfund, Head of IT Security at the canton of Zurich’s courts, regarding the motivation behind this security project. Legal experts have to be able to access vast masses of stored information quickly and securely in order to prepare their court cases.

Implementation & project outcome

And to be firmly on the safe side, Axians designed a solution for the courts of Zurich’s new extranet that uses a SSL-VPN connection and an additional matrix card or scratch list authentication option. An intensive evaluation of the products showed that F5’s SSL-VPN solutions and Swiss company Ergon’s TAN authentication server Medusa were the perfect fit for generating the matrix cards. The solution is cost-effective and technically efficient with low recurring costs. The test installation was convincing, and the project took just four weeks from go-ahead to launch. Christian Pfund summarises the successful integration as follows: “Combining SSL-VPN and matrix cards proved to be an excellent solution and has met with positive feedback from all of our employees across the board. Two major plus points: the solution is easy to use and mobile access is just as fast as at the office.

Kundenvorteile

Komfortable und sichere Authentifizierung; Single Sign-On um Akzeptanz des Extranets sicherzustellen; Flexible, ausbaufähige Lösung.

Kunde

Gerichte des Kanton Zürich

Branche

Öffentliche Verwaltungen

Lösungen

Data Center & Infrastructure, Mobility, Security

Ansprechpartner

Beratungs-Team GNS

+41 52 368 79 79

Kontakt speichern

 

Projektumfeld

Seit 2001 zählen die Gerichte des Kantons Zürich auf Axians GNS, wenn es um die IT-Sicherheit geht; von der Beratung über die Planung, Realisation und Implementierung bis hin zum Unterhalt. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem internen IT-Team implementierten wir Security Lösungen wie Firewall, Content-Security für Mail und Webfiltering. Auch beim aktuellen Projekt steht die Sicherheit im Vordergrund.

Projektanforderungen & Projektziele

„Der Wunsch unserer Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, auch von zuhause aus oder von unterwegs zuverlässig auf Daten und Informationen zugreifen zu können, wurde zunehmend stärker“, so definiert Christian Pfund, Verantwortlicher IT-Sicherheit bei den Gerichten des Kantons Zürich die Motivation für das neue Sicherheitsprojekt. Für die Vorbereitung der Gerichtsfälle müssen die Rechtsspezialisten jederzeit sicher und schnell auf einen Informationsbestand von enormem Ausmass zugreifen können.

Umsetzung & Projektergebnis

Um absolut auf Nummer sicher zu gehen, hat Axians GNS beim neuen Extranet der Gerichte Zürich eine Lösung mit SSL-VPN-Verbindung und zusätzlicher Authentifizierungsmöglichkeit mittels Matrix-Karte oder Streichliste entworfen. Bei der intensiven Evaluation der Produkte haben sich die SSL-VPN-Lösungen von F5 sowie der TAN-Authentifizierungsserver Medusa des Schweizer Unternehmens Ergon Informatik zum Generieren von Matrix-Karten als prädestiniert erwiesen. Die Lösung ist kosteneffektiv und technisch effizient und der wiederkehrende finanzielle Aufwand gering. Die Testinstallation überzeugte und vom „Go“ bis zur Live-Schaltung vergingen nur vier Wochen. Christian Pfunds Resümee nach der erfolgreichen Integration: „Die Kombi-Lösung aus SSL-VPN und Matrix-Karte bewährte sich ausserordentlich gut und stösst bei unseren Mitarbeitenden durchs Band auf positive Resonanz. Zwei grosse Pluspunkte: Die Lösung ist einfach in der Anwendung und der Zugriff ist auch von unterwegs gleich schnell wie im Büro.“