Benefit

Highest security standards; central administration; cost-efficiency; comprehensive solution; reduction of maintenance costs

Reference Customer

Integrierte Psychiatrie Winterthur

Branch of Industry

Healthcare

Solution Area

Security

Contact person

Consulting-Team GNS

+41 52 368 79 79

Save contact

Project environment

With more than 800 employees, Integrierte Psychiatrie Winterthur, Zürcher Unterland (ipw) is one of the biggest employers in the regions of Winterthur and Zurich Unterland. The ipw is responsible for inpatient psychiatric care in both regions, tending to 440,000 residents of all ages. A pioneer in integrated healthcare, the ipw has run several local outpatient and day clinics at 15 different locations for many years now. Over the years, the ipw network has also become more complicated and the IT security requirements have continued to grow.

Project requirements & goals

When modernising their IT security, the ipw is relying for the first time on the innovative network solutions provided by Fortinet Security Fabric. To ensure the 15 sites can be connected and to introduce centralised IT security administration, the ipw chose the network security specialists’ integrated solution. In summer 2016, Fortinet partner Axians GNS AG took over the implementation, assuming responsibility for the transition process.

Implementation & project outcome

Network traffic between the ipw’s 15 sites is shaped by the storage of sensitive data and the comprehensive exchange of information. If the hospital was to continue to guarantee their network met the highest of security standards, it was high time to replace the ad-hoc IT security solutions with a uniform, comprehensive security approach. With this in mind, Fortinet partner Axians GNS began upgrading the IT security infrastructure in summer 2016. As the sites vary in size and number of employees, various FortiGate models were used over the course of the redesign. The rule of thumb was to keep latency to a minimum, with maximum response times of four milliseconds – despite the data transfer being encrypted. The major advantage of centralised administration: each individual FortiGate can be controlled from corporate headquarters, making it easy to quickly feed in security updates for all sites from one location. “Fortinet Security Fabric clearly demonstrates how simple and easy it can be to manage a comprehensive IT security system. We have already seen a reduction in our overall operating costs thanks to its time-efficiency, simplified configuration, maintenance and provision,” explains Chris Zwicky, Head of IT Operations at ipw, when talking about the advantages of the Fortinet network solution..

DOWNLOAD REFERENCE Flyer (German)

Kundenvorteile

Höchstes Sicherheitsniveau; Zentrale Verwaltung; Kosteneffizient; Umfassend; Reduktion Wartungsaufwand

Kunde

Integrierte Psychiatrie Winterthur

Branche

Gesundheit

Lösungen

Security

Ansprechpartner

Beratungs-Team GNS

+41 52 368 79 79

Kontakt speichern

Projektumfeld

Die ipw – Integrierte Psychiatrie Winterthur – Züricher Unterland – ist mit mehr als 800 Angestellten eine der grössten Arbeitgeberinnen in den Regionen Winterthur und Zürcher Unterland. Zuständig für die stationäre Psychiatrieversorgung der beiden Regionen, versorgt die ipw 440.000 Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner aller Altersklassen. Als Pionierin der integrierten Versorgung betreibt die ipw seit vielen Jahren an 15 verschiedenen Standorten eine Vielzahl an gemeindenahen ambulanten und tagesklinischen Angeboten. Nun ist mit den Jahren auch das ipw-Netzwerk immer komplexer und die Ansprüche an die IT-Security immer grösser geworden.

Projektanforderungen & Projektziele

Im Zuge der Erneuerung ihrer IT-Security setzt die ipw erstmals auf die innovativen Netzwerklösungen der Fortinet Security Fabric. Um die sichere Vernetzung von 15 Standorten und eine zentrale Verwaltung der IT-Security ermöglichen zu können, entschied sich die ipw für den integrierten Lösungsansatz des Netzwerksicherheitsspezialisten. Im Sommer 2016 übernahm der Fortinet-Partner Axians GNS AG die Implementierung und war für den Umstellungsprozess verantwortlich.

Umsetzung & Projektergebnis

Die Speicherung von sensiblen Daten wie auch ein umfassender Informationsaustausch prägen den Netzwerkverkehr zwischen den 15 Standorten der ipw. Um weiterhin eine Vernetzung auf höchstem Sicherheitsniveau garantieren zu können, war es an der Zeit, die handgestrickten IT-Security Lösungen durch einen einheitlichen und umfassenden Sicherheitsansatz zu ersetzen. In diesem Sinne begann der Fortinet Partner Axians GNS im Sommer 2016 mit der Aufrüstung der IT-Security-Infrastruktur. Da sich die Niederlassungen hinsichtlich ihrer Grösse und Mitarbeiterzahl unterscheiden, kamen im Zuge der Umgestaltung verschiedene FortiGate Modelle zum Einsatz. Dabei galt es, eine sehr geringe Latenzzeit einzuhalten, also Antwortzeiten von max. vier Millisekunden – und das trotz der verschlüsselten Datenübertragung. Der entscheidende Vorteil der zentralen Verwaltung: Jede einzelne FortiGate kann von der Unternehmenszentrale aus gesteuert werden und Sicherheits-Updates für alle Standorte unkompliziert und schnell von einem Punkt aus eingespielt werden. „Die Fortinet Security Fabric führt uns vor Augen, wie einfach und unkompliziert eine umfassende IT-Security zu verwalten ist. Durch den geringen Zeitaufwand, die vereinfachte Konfiguration, Wartung und Bereitstellung konnten wir bereits unsere Gesamtbetriebskosten senken“, erläutert Chris Zwicky, Leiter IT-Betrieb ipw, die Vorteile der Fortinet Netzwerklösung.

REFERENZ HERUNTERLADEN