Benefit

Convenient and secure authentication; single sign-on to establish the extranet connection; flexible, extendable solution.

Reference Customer

Gerichte des Kanton Zürich

Branch of Industry

Public Administration

Solution Area

Data Center & Infrastructure, Mobility, Security

Contact person

Consulting-Team GNS

+41 52 368 79 79

Save contact

Project environment

Since 2001, the courts of the canton of Zurich have been counting on Axians GNS when it comes to IT security, consulting services and planning, realisation and implementation, as well as maintenance. Axians GNS works in close collaboration with their internal IT team to provide security solutions such as firewalls, e-mail content security and web filtering. This particular project also placed great emphasis on security.

Project requirements & goals

“Our employees grew increasingly eager to work from home at times and be able to reliably access data and information on the move,” explains Christian Pfund, Head of IT Security at the canton of Zurich’s courts, regarding the motivation behind this security project. Legal experts have to be able to access vast masses of stored information quickly and securely in order to prepare their court cases.

Implementation & project outcome

And to be firmly on the safe side, Axians designed a solution for the courts of Zurich’s new extranet that uses a SSL-VPN connection and an additional matrix card or scratch list authentication option. An intensive evaluation of the products showed that F5’s SSL-VPN solutions and Swiss company Ergon’s TAN authentication server Medusa were the perfect fit for generating the matrix cards. The solution is cost-effective and technically efficient with low recurring costs. The test installation was convincing, and the project took just four weeks from go-ahead to launch. Christian Pfund summarises the successful integration as follows: “Combining SSL-VPN and matrix cards proved to be an excellent solution and has met with positive feedback from all of our employees across the board. Two major plus points: the solution is easy to use and mobile access is just as fast as at the office.

Avantages client

Authentification pratique et sécurisée; procédure d’identification unique (Single Sign-On) pour assurer l’acceptation de l’extranet; solution flexible et extensible.

Client

Gerichte des Kanton Zürich

Secteur

Administration publique

Solutions

Data Center & Infrastructure, Sécurité, Workplace et mobilité

Contact

Consulting-Team GNS

+41 52 368 79 79

Enregistrer données de contact

Contexte du projet

Depuis 2001, les Tribunaux du canton de Zurich font confiance à Axians GNS en matière de sécurité informatique, tant pour le conseil, la planification, la réalisation et l’implémentation que pour la maintenance. En étroite coopération avec l’équipe informatique interne, nous avons implémenté des solutions de sécurité, telles que Firewall, Content-Security pour la messagerie et Webfiltering. Le projet actuel met lui aussi l’accent sur la sécurité.

Exigences et objectifs du projet

«Nos collaborateurs exprimaient de plus en plus le souhait de pouvoir accéder aux données et aux informations en toute sécurité depuis leur domicile ou en déplacement», explique Christian Pfund, responsable de la sécurité informatique pour les tribunaux du canton de Zurich, pour justifier la motivation du nouveau projet de sécurité. Pour préparer les affaires judiciaires, les spécialistes du droit doivent pouvoir bénéficier d’un accès permanent, sécurisé et rapide à une base d’informations d’une ampleur considérable.

Mise en œuvre et résultat du projet

Pour garantir une sécurité parfaite, Axians GNS a élaboré une solution avec une connexion VPN SSL et un autre mode d’authentification au moyen d’une carte matricielle ou d’une liste à biffer pour le nouvel extranet des tribunaux de Zurich. Lors de l’évaluation rigoureuse des produits, les solutions VPN SSL de F5 et Medusa, le serveur d’authentification par TAN de l’entreprise suisse Ergon Informatik permettant de générer des cartes matricielles, se sont révélés être parfaitement adaptés. La solution est avantageuse en termes de coûts et efficace sur le plan technique, et la charge financière régulière est moindre. L’installation pilote s’est révélée convaincante et il ne s’est écoulé que quatre semaines entre le feu vert du projet et sa mise en ligne. Christian Pfund résume ainsi cette intégration réussie: «La solution combinant VPN SSL et carte matricielle s’est avérée être excellente et a été globalement très bien accueillie par nos collaborateurs. Je note deux grands atouts: la solution est simple à utiliser et on y accède aussi rapidement lors des déplacements qu’au bureau.»