Benefit

Reduction of travel and expenses; CBT applications and documentation available around the clock; more attractive training programmes; lower support costs

Reference Customer

skyguide swiss air navigation services ltd.

Branch of Industry

Logistics and Transport, Public Administration, Services

Solution Area

Data Center & Infrastructure, Mobility, Virtualisierung

Contact person

Thomas Rothen

Division Lead Platforms / Senior Consultant

+41 61 716 70 70

Save contact

Project environment

With 1,500 employees at 14 locations, skyguide conducts air traffic control in Switzerland and in neighbouring countries. With their help, around 1.2 million civil and military aircraft are guided safely and efficiently through the busiest airspace in Europe. The further education and training of employees and air traffic controllers in particular is of paramount importance in performing this task and shouldering the responsibility it entails. skyguide has relied on computer-based training (CBT) for several years now. However, the systems were only available in central training centres. Long lead times and intensive supervision were just as unavoidable as the high travel costs and the loss of participants’ time.

Project requirements & goals

skyguide had a vision of a virtual training platform that all training participants and trainers could access at any time from anywhere. The system package would need to be highly automated and compatible with the numerous CBT applications in use.

Implementation & project outcome

Axians redtoo developed a concept with which to make the CBT applications and training documentation available, tailored specifically to skyguide’s needs and their extremely demanding security requirements. The solution’s core technology is Microsoft’s App-V, Citrix’s XenDesktop and XenApp. The new training platform was one of the largest virtualisation projects undergone in Switzerland thus far. skyguide was able to achieve a level of flexibility never before seen in training along with considerable cost savings that will provide a return on investment within a short space of time. “Thanks to our new CBT solution, we are able to conduct significantly more training sessions and increase participants’ productivity at the same time,” explains Toni Gähwiler, Head of Training Resources & Operations at skyguide, when highlighting the new solution’s greatest advantage.

DOWNLOAD REFERENCE Flyer (German)

Avantages client

Réduction des déplacements et des frais inhérents; disponibilité permanente des applications CBT et des documents; renforcement de l’attrait des formations; réduction des frais de support

Client

skyguide swiss air navigation services ltd.

Secteur

Administration publique, Services, Transport et logistique

Solutions

Data Center & Infrastructure, Virtualisation, Workplace et mobilité

Contact

Thomas Rothen

Division Lead Platforms / Senior Consultant

+41 61 716 70 70

Enregistrer données de contact

Contexte du projet

Avec 1500 collaborateurs répartis sur 14 sites, skyguide assure la sécurité aérienne en Suisse et dans les pays limitrophes. Elle guide 1,2 million de vols civils et militaires de façon sûre et efficace à travers l’espace aérien le plus dense d’Europe. Pour pouvoir exécuter cette tâche à haute responsabilité, l’entreprise accorde une importance toute particulière à la formation initiale et continue de ses collaborateurs, en particulier celle des contrôleurs de la circulation aérienne. Dans ce domaine, skyguide utilise des didacticiels (CBT) depuis déjà de nombreuses années. Jusqu’à présent, les systèmes étaient seulement disponibles dans les principaux centres de formation. Une situation qui impliquait inévitablement de longs délais de planification et un suivi intensif, ainsi que des frais de déplacement élevés et une perte de temps considérable pour les participants.

Exigences et objectifs du projet

skyguide souhaitait une plate-forme de formation virtuelle à laquelle chaque participant et chaque formateur puisse accéder à tout moment et en tout lieu. Le système devait présenter un haut niveau d’automatisation et garantir la compatibilité avec les diverses applications CBT utilisées.

Mise en œuvre et résultat du projet

En parfait accord avec les besoins et les exigences de sécurité très élevées de skyguide, Axians redtoo a développé un concept pour la mise à disposition des applications CBT et des documents de formation. App-V de Microsoft ainsi que XenDesktop et XenApp de Citrix constituent le cœur technologique de la solution. La nouvelle plate-forme de formation a été l’un des plus grands projets de virtualisation réalisés jusqu’alors en Suisse. skyguide a atteint une flexibilité de la formation sans précédent tout en réalisant des économies considérables qui lui ont garanti un retour sur investissement rapide. «Grâce à notre nouvelle solution CBT, nous organisons beaucoup plus de formations et augmentons la productivité des participants», note Toni Gähwiler, Head Training Resources & Operations de skyguide, au sujet du principal atout de la nouvelle solution.

skyguide (PDF allemand)