Benefit

Reliable, stable and highly available comprehensive solution; greater flexibility for future adaptations; convincing cost-benefit ratio.

Reference Customer

Rahn+Bodmer Co.

Branch of Industry

banks and Insurances

Solution Area

Data Center & Infrastructure, Managed Services

Contact person

Consulting-Team GNS

+41 52 368 79 79

Save contact

Project environment

Founded in 1750, Rahn+Bodmer Co. now employs almost 200 people. They specialise in personalised asset management. In terms of IT, Rahn+Bodmer Co. has been working successfully with Axians GNS for over 20 years and, when it came to transitioning to a new network, the bank opted for their trusted partner.

Project requirements & goals

The bank’s IT system was organised across two data centres at their headquarters. Fibre optic lines safeguarded the server and access networks’ redundancy. The central network components that had come to the end of their life cycles had to be replaced. The expectations of the network architecture were considerable. Both data centres were to be outsourced to external sites whilst maintaining the full network and data redundancy. The security of the data also had to be guaranteed at all times: The overall interruption of service availability had to be kept under 36 hours.

Implementation & project outcome

New data centres, Axxess firewalls and Layer 2 encryption formed the basis for the new network architecture. The lines were to be made available as managed services.  The network architecture was built and tested at the bank’s headquarters using hardware components configured by Axians GNS. After a successful test, the migration of the servers and workstations took place even before the data centres were outsourced to the external site. The servers and workstations, including external data connections, were migrated within the maximum service downtime, facilitating the subsequent successful transition of all network components and servers. The time allocated to planning, design and implementation was tight, which rendered the process and the result all the more satisfying: All of the stipulated deadlines were met, and just 18 weeks later, the new system was already ready for use.  “The network solution proved its flexibility when the data centres were moved. The system in use is stable and efficient. We particularly appreciated the great degree of efficiency and open communication in our dealings with Axians GNS AG,” states Iris Albrecht, Head of IT Services at Rahn+Bodmer Co., as she emphasises how happy she was with the service.

DOWNLOAD REFERENCE Flyer (German)

Avantages client

Solution globale fiable, stable et à haute disponibilité; flexibilité accrue pour les changements futurs; rapport qualité/prix convaincant.

Client

Rahn+Bodmer Co.

Secteur

Banque et assurance

Solutions

Data Center & Infrastructure, Managed Services

Contact

Consulting-Team GNS

+41 52 368 79 79

Enregistrer données de contact

Contexte du projet

Fondée en 1750, la banque privée Rahn+Bodmer Co. emploie aujourd’hui près de 200 collaborateurs. La gestion de fortune constitue son cœur de métier. Depuis plus de 20 ans, Rahn+Bodmer Co. entretient une collaboration fructueuse avec Axians GNS AG dans le domaine informatique; au moment d’opter pour un nouveau réseau, il était donc tout naturel pour la banque de faire appel à cette collaboration qui avait déjà fait ses preuves.

Exigences et objectifs du projet

Le système informatique de la banque était organisé au siège avec deux centres de données. Des lignes à fibre optique garantissaient la redondance des réseaux d’accès et serveur. Les composants réseau centraux, arrivés en fin de vie, devaient être remplacés. Les exigences requises pour la nouvelle architecture réseau étaient élevées: il fallait transférer les deux centres de calcul vers des centres de données externes en conservant la redondance complète des données et du réseau. Il fallait également garantir en permanence la sécurité des données: l’interruption de la disponibilité du service ne devait pas durer plus de 36 heures au total lors de la migration.

Mise en œuvre et résultat du projet

Les nouveaux centres de données, les pare-feux Axxess et le chiffrement de niveau 2 constituent désormais la base de l’architecture réseau remaniée. Les prestations sont proposées sous forme de services managés.  L’architecture réseau a été développée et testée avec les composants matériel configurés par Axians GNS au siège de la banque. Les serveurs et les stations de travail ont été migrés une fois le test réussi, juste avant le transfert des deux centres de calcul vers les centres de données externes. La migration des serveurs et des postes de travail, y compris des transmissions de données externes, a pu être exécutée en respectant le temps d’arrêt maximal de service. Il a été ainsi possible de mener à bien le déménagement consécutif de tous les composants réseau et des serveurs. La durée prévue pour la planification, la conception et la mise en œuvre de la solution était extrêmement limitée. Le processus et le résultat en ont été d’autant plus satisfaisants: tous les délais prévus ont été respectés et le nouveau système a pu être utilisé après seulement 18 semaines.  «La solution réseau a démontré sa flexibilité lors du déménagement des centres de calcul. En fonctionnement, le système se révèle stable et performant. Au cours de notre coopération, nous avons particulièrement apprécié la grande efficacité et la communication ouverte de l’entreprise Axians GNS AG», note Iris Albrecht, responsable des services informatiques de Rahn+Bodmer Co., en témoignant sa satisfaction.

Rahn+Bodmer Co. (PDF allemand)